Gucci Down to the socks…

There’s always certain designers who capture my attention. Whether it’s for a new trend or some crazy comment made like ” I didn’t make my clothes for black people” , my attention is always captured. As of recent there has been one designer that has all my attention and a lot of my money. (Don’t judge my spending habits). Gucci. Gucci. Gucci. From Beyoncé to every fashionista(o) , Gucci is being worn FLAWLESSLY.

For a while I was sleep on Gucci, I just wasn’t into it. I understood that it’s a classic and yattayattayatta but I just wasn’t with it. Then the Princeton happened. The mule with the fur. I cried when I saw that shoe. There was so many emotions running through my head when I saw that damn shoe. It was like why would they do that? Why don’t I own these ? How could I afford these? Ever since, Gucci has been on my mind. I appreciate the brand for many reasons, they never lost themselves. They keep it classic with a tablespoon on gaudy which is just the right amount of gaudy anyone needs. The pattern play is mind blowing, the fabric quality is superb, everything is just like perfect. They make things where it’s like why the hell would anyone wear that? But that shoe or that bag or whatever is stuck on your mind for days and eventually you fall in love with it. Well that’s what happened to me at least. I could not understand why I was so fascinated with the collection as a whole. Then it came to me. Nostalgia.  I come from a very fashionable family. I remember growing up looking at my parents clothes and even my grandmother and just being amazed with how they pieced things together and how awesome they looked. This admiration helped me develop my own style but I would always say, when I get older I’m going to dress like them. Stylish, fun, cool whatever the adjective was, I was going to do it. Now, here comes Gucci bringing back the old trends I grew up admiring and just couldn’t do because duh, I was a child. Now I’m a big boy and could wear these things so it’s just like, YES! Give it to me! Take ALL my money ( stop judging me).

Gucci understands the time we are in. One fuck up an the brand could be tarnished. As of recent Gucci has added some black magic into it’s advertisements. Big afros and POPPING melanin has taken over Gucci ads and runways. This is very important because as we all know that in black communities, these trends have been trending since the beginning of times and finally, we can identify with a designer who gets it. Fashion is one of the best rebellions there is. It’s safe but it causes a lot of noise. To display people of color looking flawless in their natural state dripping in thousands of dollars will piss some racist off somewhere. The last thing a racist wants to see is people of color doing better than them and being happy about it. The Gucci ads are full of black girl magic and black boy joy and it’s a great thing to see. Black people have always flocked to Gucci since forever but to identify with the brand makes us feel a little bit better about out $600 loafers (I feel the judgment again).

Let me just say this, I’m still a college student so I’m not in Gucci everyday spending all my money. I’m on a ramen noodle budget but every now and then I find money somewhere to enjoy the luxuries that happen to come in designer form( Hello, my blog name is Designer Beanz). Please don’t read this and think “fuck rent lemme go ball out in the Gucci store” NO! Save your damn money and work for those loafers you want, they’ll be there a month or two from now, its ok! Treat yourself when your pockets allow it, and Gucci thank you for showcasing black people and people of color in a way that makes us proud to be who we are.

-Beanz Out

Leave a Reply

