#LEAVEMYHBCUALONE

No matter how much you try to ignore all that’s going on in the world, you can’t. Every morning you pick up your phone and there’s an alert from CNN reporting something about Trump and all his shenanigans. In recent news, there was a report about this HBCU initiative that he signed off on which basically will help fund HBCU through the White House. When I first saw the headline all I could do is shake my head.

I attend Clark Atlanta University and I love my HBCU even with all of its problems in regards to financial aid and the registrars office, it’s all apart of the growing that one goes through while attending this illustrious university.

Most HBCU are private schools which can put a nice dent in your pockets and a lot of funding is through grants and what not which is fine but, I’m not to sure how comfortable I am with Trump and his representatives having anything to do with HBCU especially mine in particular. I don’t trust it. Besty DeVous made a very interesting comment about HBCU “providing an alternative option to students denied the right to attend a quality school is the legacy of #HBCUs”. There’s so much wrong with that comment, and that comment is what Trump and his administration think about HBCU. These institutions were started by African Americans because they had no where else to go, there weren’t any alternatives. The founders of Howard, Bethune, FAMU, Morehouse, Spelman or Clark didn’t have the option of applying to Yale, Harvard, Duke or Princeton.  They weren’t allowed. Secondly, have you all forgot how many gems have come out of HBCU? The legacy that is embedded at HBCU are astonishing. We know who came before us and what they have done and we know the responsibility we have to continue the legacy in our own way. So if we’re talking about quality let’s discuss Martin Luther King(Morehouse College), Thurgood Marshall(Lincoln University,Howard University), Spike Lee(Morehouse College), Julius Chambers(Nord Carolina Central University), Langston Hughes(Lincoln University), and the list goes on! Lets talk about the future leaders of communities running for mayors and senators and the doctors and teachers that have graduated from HBCU.

I want to believe that this order will help HBCU but in his time where people don’t even see them as important and where the president has Twitter fingers and doesn’t seem to understand the importance of people of color and what they have done and are doing for America I have a hard time believing that this is going to end well or have any effect on HBCU at all. I have a hard time normalizing anything Trump does which is what a lot of people what me to do. Forget what him and his representatives represent. I have a hard time still processing what is going on in this country and the effects of how the decisions Trump has made is effecting other countries and our ties with other countries.

Thanks to my HBCU I have become a well versed individual. I have learned about myself and those before me and how I can help those after me. Every time I step on my campus I’m reminded about the excellence that is deeply rooted in the foundation of my institution. If the intentions of Trump aren’t good and are meant to take away what those before us have fought for, we are going to have major issues. I repeat, we must come together to keep what’s ours,(rights, land, money, schools, businesses) ours. #LEAVEMYHBCUALONE

2 thoughts on “#LEAVEMYHBCUALONE

  1. I agree. I have a hard time believing that he’s going to do anything substantial for HBCUs as he was aware that this meeting was coming and instead of making sure that his staff was well equipped and knowledgeable about the situation at hand, he has The USSOE making such ridiculous and uninformed statements. That’s dangerous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Like seriously need them to hire a legitimate fact checker. The issues that are going on at HBCU have nothing to do with the “quality” of the teaching or the school as a whole. This issues are, kids wanting to experience the HBCU experience but not being to afford it causing them to have to take out ridiculous loans causing them to end up in a whole of debt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

